On Being a Hufflepuff

Before we begin on the topic at hand, let me clear up a few things. The Goblet of Fire is my favorite Harry Potter book and no, I am not a Hufflepuff because of Cedric Diggory even though I liked him. Neville Longbottom is where my heart lies and no, I am not a Hufflepuff just because he marries one, but that is a plus. Also Neville Longbottom almost being in Hufflepuff isn’t the reason I’m a Hufflepuff either. Despite loving Harry Potter as much as I do, I haven’t seen A Very Potter Musical so I don’t laugh at the Hufflepuffs being good finders joke, but if you’re wondering no I’m not good at finding things. Lastly, I am not a Hufflepuff because their common room is beside the kitchen.

Now that I’ve gotten a few no that’s not whys out of the way let me tell you why I am a Hufflepuff.

When I first read Harry Potter many moons ago, I wondered what my house would be. I knew in my little heart that I wasn’t cunning enough for Slytherin nor brave enough Gryffindor. I knew in my little heart I had to be either a Ravenclaw or a Hufflepuff. It actually caused young me some peril trying to figure out which was more important to me, the brains and wits that defined my young personality or my loyal patient nature. Before Pottermore was a thing, I took many quizzes as to which house I’d be in. I took many quizzes back in that day on all sorts of things just to be clear, but my favorite was trying to figure out my house and many of them put me in either Ravenclaw or Hufflepuff. When Pottermore finally came to be, I was still a little nervous despite having become to identify more with Hufflepuff than Ravenclaw as time went on. On the day I took the sorting hat quiz, I was certain that it was going to land me in Ravenclaw, but I was a Hufflepuff.

I never understood that hate towards Hufflepuff. Perhaps it is because on first mention of it, Draco said he’d rather be sent home. I’m happy that being loyal, hardworking and patient outshined everything else in me. Maybe people don’t like Hufflepuff because it seems like the “leftover house,” but I don’t think there really can be a leftover house as one of your core personality traits caused your house decision. I don’t mind that the only major Hufflepuff that was met while at Hogwarts was Cedric. When Hufflepuff beat Gryffindor due to Harry’s accident with the Dementors in book three, Cedric immediately offered a rematch; he was a good representation of Hufflepuff. In case anyone forgets, Tonks was a Hufflepuff and just an overall epic witch.

I like the colors of house Hufflepuff the best for some reason. Plus the badger is my favorite of all house mascots. I feel like my three favorite classes at Hogwarts would have been History of Magic, Herbology, and Care of Magical Creatures. Okay the first one seems a bit out of place in comparison, but my love of history wouldn’t just spot existing when I went to Hogwarts. I don’t think my love of Herbology would have rooted in being a Hufflepuff because it is muggle equivalent, botany, really fascinates me as well. My interest in Care of Magical Creatures would probably have steamed from my love of regular creatures.

All that being said, I like being in Hufflepuff. I wouldn’t pick any other house if given the choice.

One thought on “On Being a Hufflepuff

Leave a Reply

