Judge by Yoshiki Tonogai Series Review

Background:
The author Yoshiki Tonogai is known for creating interesting horror mangas. Last year, I read Tonogai’s first series Doubt; however, I was left disappointed in the conclusion.

13550914

Synopsis:
A young man a lie that accidentally results in the death of his older brother. He is then kidnapped along with eight other people. Their kidnapper informs them that their time has come to be judged for their “sins”-and that they will have to judge one another and that only four will make it out alive. It is told throughout six volumes.

Overall:
I felt the volumes often ended on at odd times as if not compiled nicely.
Vol 1- I was interested in seeing where it went. Worried it wouldn’t have a satisfying conclusion.
Vol 2- Nothing was making sense, but the first death occurred and the story seemed further scattered
Vol 3- Things were finally started to proceed and feel like it was coming together.
Vol 4- I started to actual find this story worth the effort being put into it.
Vol 5- The progress I felt gained from Vol 4 felt dashed. Maybe it’s because I took a break in volumes, but I almost quit this series here.
Vol 6- I felt like although the story had a satisfying conclusion to jump from almost nothing occur in some volumes to everything occurring in this, it felt sloppy and rushed.

Mild-Spoilers on the ending:
I realized once the girl the brother was involved with showed up what was happening. I still didn’t see the final ending happen. I feel like it was more satisfying than the end of Doubt.

Rating:
Best Volume- 1 and 6
Worst Volume- 2 and 5
Overall- 3.67 out of 5 stars

Find it on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12376075-judge-tome-1

Leave a Reply

