January Book Wrap-Up

Total Reads: 16 books
Around the World Map locations: 12
Average rating for the month: 3.8 out of 5 stars

1. Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning

1451694Darkfever is an urban fantasy about a girl who finds out her sister has died while studying abroad so she goes to seek justice for her sister where she finds out she can see Fae. This was my first read of the year and while I enjoyed it I felt like it was lacking. It took time to get used to the pacing and dragged during the setup. It seemed as if it jumped from location to location rather quickly. It is a solid start to a series that I may continue one day.
Rating: 3/5 stars.
Read: January 1-2, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1451694.Darkfever

2. Da Vinci’s Tiger by J.M. Elliot

24951755This book is based on a painting that Leonard Da Vinci did of Ginevra de’ Benci. I loved how historically accurate this was and the attention to detail in the descriptions found in this book were. The downside to this book was getting confused by the revolving door of side characters. Many in their introductions did not get explained well enough to make them memorable or distinctive when they were mentioned again.
Rating: 4/5 stars.
Read: January 3-5, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24951755-da-vinci-s-tiger

3. Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay

18813642So I’ll admit that I picked this up on a whim. I’ve been trying to read more nonfiction and essays. This one showed promise as the title grabbed me. While I did enjoy several of the essays, I felt out of touch with quite a few. There was a larger emphasis on pop culture than I was expecting resulting in myself feeling very out of touch and not a part of the intended audience.
Rating: 3/5 stars.
Read: January 5-6, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18813642-bad-feminist

4. Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

12578077I already posted a full review on this one. If you are looking for a book about romance with a rough start and aliens then this is a book to look into.
Rating: 5/5 stars.
Read: January 5-7, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12578077-obsidian

5. Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard

25944381This was prequel novellas to the Red Queen series whose sequel, Glass Sword, is slatted to come out next month. The first novella, Queen Song, was about the queen whom died prior to the start of the first novel, Red Queen. This novella renewed my interest in the series and made me very excited for the sequel. The second novella, Steel Scars, gave more background on Farley. I feel like I would have enjoyed the second novella more if I hadn’t just read the first one, but it was still enjoyable; however, it didn’t feel as necessary to me.
Rating: 4/5 stars.
Read:  January 8, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25944381-cruel-crown

6. The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan

18143905Marina Keegan died in a car crash five days after her graduation from Yale. She had written many essays and short stories. In her memory, Keegan’s works were published. I loved the fiction pieces in this more than the essays; however, I’m starting to think I’m not an essay person. I wouldn’t rate anything in this collection under a four star.
Rating: 4/5 stars.
Read: January 10-12, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18143905-the-opposite-of-loneliness

7. An Ideal Husband by Oscar Wilde

5296This is about a blackmail scheme that forces a married couple to reexamine their moral standards. I probably haven’t mentioned, but I love Oscar Wilde’s writing. This is the second play that I’ve read by him. His works stand up throughout time and it’s amazing.
Rating: 4/5 stars.
Read: January 12-14, 2016
Goodreads:

8. This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkampy

24529123I’ve also already written a full review on this. It’s about a school shooting and is told over the next 54 minutes through four perspectives.
Rating: 3/5 stars.
Read: January 15, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/5296.An_Ideal_Husband

9. The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

22910900This book is about the people who aren’t the chosen ones with destinies. It’s highly diverse. There is even a character who is the god of cats. However, it did leave me with a what did I just read feeling upon it’s conclusion.
Rating: 4/5 stars.
Read: January 13-15, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22910900-the-rest-of-us-just-live-here

10: Off to Be a Wizard by Scott Meyer

18616975I picked this up a few months back on an audible credit I didn’t know what to do with. The main character, Martin,  could manipulate time and other things about his life with a program he found on his computer. However, when the police catch on, Martin flees to the past. The premise sounded awesome and I had heard a few good things about it, but it fell flat for me.
Rating: 3/5 stars.
Read: January 14-15, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18616975-off-to-be-the-wizard

11. Legend by Marie Lu

9275658 To be honest, I read this because I really want to read The Young Elites also by her, but I wanted to try her first series first. Okay so, I had no clue what this was about when I went into besides that it was dystopian. Knowing what I knew, I was really surprised and glad I gave this book a shot, but probably won’t continue onward as I’ve heard it decreases in quality.
Rating: 4/5 stars.
Read: January 10-16, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9275658-legend

12. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

13206760Many reviews made me think I was going to hate this book which is why I was hesitant to start it. Little Red Riding Hood isn’t typically my favorite fairy tale, but I did like this book even if it was less than Cinder.
Rating: 3/5 stars.
Read: January 16-17, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13206760-scarlet

13. The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey

17235026It took me some time to realize what was going on with the children.  I was glad with how the theme of what was going on with the children was presented in a new light. I don’t want to say too much because the surprise is what made me love it so much. Although it did take some time to get into.
Rating: 4/5 stars.
Read: January 18-22, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17235026-the-girl-with-all-the-gifts

14. Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

19547856Okay, my heart still hasn’t recovered with how cute this is. Simon was a great character and his friends group, as well as the novel itself, was really diverse. The adults in this novel weren’t mindless filler space. The chapters with emails didn’t seem out of place. Blue’s real identity is introduced at a good time. I immediately wanted to reread this after knowing to reread Simon and Blue’s interactions, even if I did have a good grip on who he was.
Rating: 5/5 stars.
Read: January 22, 2016
Rating: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19547856-simon-vs-the-homo-sapiens-agenda

15. Catherine the Great: Potrait of a Woman by Robert K. Massie

10414941I don’t think I’ve mentioned my love for history especially Russian history yet, but it is very large. As a result of loving nonfiction November, I’ve started wanting to read more nonfiction. I found this to be a really great and informative read, but sometimes things seemed in an odd order. For an example, it would jump backwards in time and when it jump forwards, I eneded up needing to reread to remember where the “story” was at.
Rating: 4/5 stars.
Read: January 24-27, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10414941-catherine-the-great

16. The Heir and the Spare by Emily Albright

25517283I’ve posted a full review on this novel. It is about an American named Evie whom on a quest following letters left for her by her deceased mother attends Oxford and meets the spare prince of England, Edmund. The novel follows Evie’s romance with Edmund as well as her quest tasks left by her mother.
Rating: 4/5 stars.
Read: January 31-February 1, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25517283-the-heir-and-the-spare

Leave a Reply

