20 Bookish Facts

So this is sort of a tag and sort of a get to know me better list.

  1. I actually prefer paperbacks to hardbacks. This is mostly due to the dust jacket because I never know what to do with it.
  2. I managed to double my reading goal last year because I was introduced to audiobooks.
  3. I have so many unread books on my shelf because I keep ignoring my books for books I get from the library because I typically check out books I am interested in right that second.
  4. Even though I’ve read all the Harry Potter books, I still have not seen the last movie and I have no idea why.
  5. Despite loving fantasy more, I somehow manage to read contemporary the most.
  6. I’ve never given an one star rating to a book because I typically avoid books I feel will get that low of a rating. I have given around a dozen two star reviews however.
  7.  I’m actually proud of my ranking on the Goodreads Never-Ending Book Quiz.
  8. For one of my classes in middle school, I modernized The Comedy of Errors by William Shakespeare and I got an A.
  9. I don’t mind dog-earing pages, but only in books I own.
  10. If I am really invested, I can read an entire volume of manga in less than 30 minutes.
  11. The first book I remember rereading is Stargirl and I actually cried when the second book, Love, Stargirl, was released seven years later.
  12. I actually didn’t do amazing in one of my English classes because the classics we had to read weren’t as interesting as the books I had borrowed from the library so I wouldn’t focus on them as much as I should have.
  13. My local library holds a summer reading program every year and you get entered into a drawing to win a prize for every book you review; last summer I submitted over half of the entries for the contest and at least double the person after me. Needless to say, I won the contest.
  14. I can easily guess plot twists in books and it’s worse when I’m fully invested.
  15. I always have a book with me; if I don’t see a physical book with me, chances are I have an ebook because I was too lazy to carry a physical one.
  16. Once in high school, I sat under a computer desk so no one could bother me while I finished my book; it was City of Glass.
  17.  I have a tough time getting into a historical fiction if the historical part is incorrect, but not because it is a part of the story.
  18. I actually took a break reading Harry Potter because the fifth book was too daunting. I regret this decision.
  19. If you ask me what my favorite book is I will either name the book I like most in relation to the genre I think you’ll appreciate or the book I’ve loved most recently.
  20. I read across all genres and don’t really consider young adult/adult/middle grade a genre because I don’t think of it as defining.
Leave a Reply

