Reader Problems Tag

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?
I currently  have almost 500 books on my TBR and I’d probably go with the same method if it was 20,000, I’d start by picking whatever I’m in the mood for first.

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?
Honestly, I normally can tell if I’m not liking something early enough on, but if I’m halfway I’ll try putting it down for awhile. If that doesn’t work I probably will try and power through until the end or end up skimming until I’m less bored. 

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?
Depends on how far away far away is, but I’d probably pick books I know I’ll zoom through or reread something I haven’t reread in awhile. 

4. The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?
This actually isn’t something that bothers me; my copy of the last Harry Potter book is from the editions where they look like a castle while the rest are from the original publications though some are hardback and some paperback. If I really care about the cover, I make sure to get the “right” cover when I’m getting the series, but I typically don’t.

5. Every one and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?
I haven’t found a book that I didn’t like that lacked someone else feeling similar, but if I really dislike it, I may tell someone whom I know will never want to read it about my feelings on the book. 

6. You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?
Chances are if I’m about to start crying, I’ll probably end up crying. If I can catch myself before I know tears are coming I may put the book down, but once they’re coming might as well enjoy them. 

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!?!?!?
Chances are the book will do filling in on what’s happened previously so I may try and start the sequel before getting frustrated, but if I find myself feeling lost I may try to Goodreads it and if that doesn’t work reread the first book. 

8. You do not want anyone. ANYONE. borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?
Politely explain that I’ve had to replace lost or damage books in the past as a result of lending them out, unless I find them a worthy exception to the “anyone” rule. 

9. Reading ADD. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?
Normally if I feel slumpish it’s not because of books; I find myself more interested in other activities and let myself slump. If I find myself just not finishing anything, I’ll try an audiobook. Worst case scenario, I’ll reread a book I loved perhaps one that’s getting a sequel soon.  

10. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?
If there’s a sequel to a book I loved, I’ll buy it. If there’s a book I think I’ll absolutely love chances are I’ll buy it. If there’s a book my library won’t be getting I may buy it, otherwise I typically get them from the library first. 

11. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?
If I have a stack of library books checked out, I’ll wait until those are gone. If I’m currently in the middle of a book, I’ll wait until it’s finished. I have found myself knowing a book I’m looking forward is coming and just didn’t read until it showed up. I have also found myself with a book I’m looking forward to waiting several weeks until it gets read. 

This tag was created by About to Read.

Leave a Reply

