March Wrap-Up

Total Reads: 12
Around the World Map locations added: four
Average rating for the month: 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Books 35 and 36 were for the SlayThatSeries Readathon

27. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

890George and his simple-minded friend Lennie have nothing in the world except each other; this novel follows what happens when they go to work on a ranch.It was hard for me to understand George’s motivations at the end of the novel because of the beginning of it.
Rating: 4/5 stars.
Read: March 2, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/890.Of_Mice_and_Men

28. The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

231804According to Ponyboy, there are two kinds of people in the world: greasers and socs. Ponyboy has always been proud to be a greaser until one night a fellow greaser murders a soc. It was apparent the novel was written by a young author and the ending of the novel also be the beginning is something I don’t particularly enjoy.
Rating: 4/5 stars.
Read: March 3, 2016.
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/231804.The_Outsiders

29. Egghead or, You Can’t Survive on Ideas Alone by Bo Burnham

17333426A book of absurd poetry.  I do think the message in some would have been relayed better vocally, but that is how I feel about most poetry. I did mostly enjoy this compilation because I enjoy Bo Burnham, but I did enjoy the artist’s drawings a lot as they fit the poems amazingly.
Rating: 4/5 stars.
Read: March 6, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17333426-egghead

30. Murder Past Due by Miranda James

7337871Maine coon, Diesel, helps Charlie a librarian turned sleuth in this cozy mystery. So confession time, I did not know there was an entire part in the mystery section that dealt with cats. I got what I wanted out of this: a quick mystery and a cute cat, but not much more. I will admit I loved how Diesel could be walked on a leash.
Rating: 3/5 stars.
Read: March 2-6, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7337871-murder-past-due

31. Hidden Bodies by Caroline Kepnes

23492288This book is a sequel to You and is very different and more lighthearted than the first. I did find myself slugging around the 200 page mark as the Joe does LA thing got kind of tiresome. This book series felt like a duology until the end as it seemed like a cliffhanger; however, I’m starting to believe how these books were meant to be read.
Rating: 4/5 stars.
Read: March 1-6, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23492288-hidden-bodies

32. The Big Rewind by Libby Cudmore

23316660When Jett finds her neighbor, Kitkat, murdered after she accientally receives a mixtape meant for Kitkat in the mail,  Kitkat’s desperate sister asks to see if Jett can solve the case before it goes cold leaving her with Kitkat’s mixtape collection which Jett finds herself relating to. I read this novel as a part of my debut author’s challenge that I am doing and wrote a full review on it. I found myself underwhelmed and wishing the plot tied nicer together.
Rating: 3/5 stars.
Read: March 9-10, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23316660-the-big-rewind

33. Adulting: How to Become a Grown-Up in 468 Easy(ish) Steps by Kelly Williams Brown

15791144I felt like I needed to adult more. There were a few of the tips that I loved. Some weren’t relevant to me currently and I felt like at times this book was just for women, but other times it was not. I enjoyed the occasional flowchart, but who doesn’t love flowcharts. It wasn’t as funny as I thought it was going to be based on the cover.
Rating: 3/5 stars.
Read: March 10, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15791144-adulting

34.  I Am Legend by Richard Matheson

14064Robert Neville is the last living man on Earth, but that doesn’t mean he’s alone; everyone else has been turned into vampires. It was a nice sad and quick tale that acknowledging the year it was published, not the year I read it, worthy of four star. Also that ending.
Rating: 4/5 stars
Read: March 6-10, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/14064.I_Am_Legend

35. Game by Barry

18656013This book was gearing up to be my first five star of the month until the ending. The ending didn’t feel like an ending, but not in a typical cliffhanger fashion. I felt like pages were missing. I feel for how many pages there were the ending shouldn’t have felt the way it did. Otherwise, I really enjoyed this book; however, I wish that the perspectives were stated more apparently in the beginning of the chapters.
Rating: 4/5 stars.
Read: March 13-14, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18656013-game

36. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

256683This was a reread. I haven’t read the beginning of this series since it came out and I have only read it all the way through when it was still a trilogy. I still very much enjoy this world as I did when I was a young thing.
Rating: 4/5 stars.
Read: March 14-16, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/256683.City_of_Bones

37. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
25419886My Goodreads review rings true for this one: “can my review literally just be a heart? <3” I just loved it so much. It definitely helped out as I was starting to feel slumpish.
Rating: 5/5 stars.
Read: March 11-21, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25419886-pride-and-prejudice

38. The Austere Academy by Lemony Snicket
131123After feeling a little miserable after reading book four, I found myself surprised by this book. This book pulled the story’s repetitive plot out and started changing things up slightly; however I find all of the side bar definitions really pulls you out of the story.
Rating: 4/5 stars.
Read: March 24, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/131123.The_Austere_Academy

39. Cupcakes, Trinkets and other Deadly Magic by Meghan Ciana Doidge 22059095The title of the book is the best describer of what this about. I read this as a book club challenge to read a book with cake on the cover led me to read this. I had picked this book on my e-reader months ago and I should probably start reading the books I pick up on it more often because this was surprisingly good.
Rating: 4/5 stars
Read: March 23-30, 2016
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22059095-cupcakes-trinkets-and-other-deadly-magic

Leave a Reply

