Risuko: A Kunoichi Tale by David Kudler

This is a spoiler free review.

25700544

Plot: Japan is currently being devastated by civil war and a girl known as Risuko, or squirrel, just wants to climb; however, Risuko is pulled into a plot that could save or destroy Japan.

Overall: I would say the novel leans more towards the middle grade side of young adult so it can be enjoyed by younger audiences. I felt the world was very well developed and it was noticeable that the author put time into making the setting feel accurate. The beginning of this novel was difficult to follow, but once I got used to the pacing and things began to be answered it, picked up. I found myself enjoying this book when it was in front of me, but not really remembering that I was reading it when it was out of sight which is a shame because I really hoped to enjoy it more.

Rating: 3/5 stars

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25700544-risuko

I received and ARC of this from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “Risuko: A Kunoichi Tale by David Kudler

  1. Pingback: June Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

