June Book Haul

I’ve been debating on doing book hauls on this blog for a few months now and decided why not.

In no particular order here are the books and graphics that I bought this month. Books two through eight were purchased on Book Outlet.

  1. Zodiac Starforce by Kevin Panetta and illustrated  by Paulina Ganucheau 25810226This is about a group of teenage girls whom have magical powers and are the planet’s protectors as well as students. I had preordered this comic and it arrived early this month.
  2. China Dolls by Lisa See
    18404427Ruby, Helen and Grace, three girls from very different backgrounds, find themselves competing at the same audition for showgirl roles at San Francisco nightclub  Helen and Grace are both Chinese-Americans while Ruby is Japanese passing as Chinese until she is put in an internment camp, but who betrayed her. I saw this book on the bargain, previously best-sellers table at Barnes and Nobles; the copy was signed and only $7. Apparently, it is frequently being checked out at the library as well.
  3. The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
    17134589This is about a secret society, an ancient prophecy and an Alexander the Great tomb treasure hunt. I read this book during the month of June through the library and had to own it.
  4. The Second Summer of the Sisterhood by Ann Brashares
    5456This was actually a repurchase. I previously owned the whole series, but somewhere along my life the second book got lost. I figured since I had been rereading this series, it was fitting to repurchase the mixing book.
  5. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
    439288Although, I have not reread this book since before 2013, I do remember enjoying it deeply; however, I’m not sure how to describe this one.
  6. Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal
    8697507Described as Pride and Prejudice meets Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell. It had been on my radar for sometime so I went ahead and picked it up.
  7. Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra
    23655201Heiress Leo has a speech disorder causes her to stutter but also allows her to imitate other people’s voices flawlessly. This book is set in London during the time when opium was a problem.
  8. The Host by Stephenie Meyer
    1656001This was a long time coming; I have been maybeing purchasing this book since it came out eight years ago.
  9. The Slow Regard of Silent Things by Patrick Rothfuss24854664Another book that I had been waiting to get, but decided it was time to this month. This book is a part of the Kingkiller Chronicle series and is 2.5, taking place between the second book and the long awaited third book.
  10. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
    25494343I was planning on holding off on getting this until after I got caught up, but I found a signed copy at Walmart and figured why not.
One thought on “June Book Haul

  1. Pingback: August Book Haul

Leave a Reply

