Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco Review

The following review is spoiler-free.

28962906

Plot:
I feel like the tagline for this is best describes the plot: He’s the infamous killer no man has ever been able to find. Now it’s a girl’s turn.

Why This Book:
I was hesitant about this book at first since I’m not a huge fan of James Patterson and his name is on the cover, he comes off as more of a brand than anything to me. I ended up picking this book up because I have always been fascinated by serial killers. Reading this book also counts as a part of my debut books challenge.

Overall:
The first selling point for this novel is main character, Audrey; she doesn’t always listen, but I feel like this book wouldn’t exist if she did. I enjoyed the forensic science and the learning how to figure out the how someone died; they were very well put together. I wasn’t a fan of the romance and I didn’t feel like it was necessary nor added anything to the story; I’m still trying to figure out why romance seems to be wedged in books that could stand without it. I loved the addition of pictures and “blood”spattered chapter headers; however, I feel like stating where the location was meant to help the reader imagine the historical locations, but after awhile I found myself skipping those. I won’t touch on the mystery aspect as much, as I am prone to guessing the “who done it;” however, I enjoyed the ending.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

3 thoughts on “Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco Review

  1. I’ve heard a lot of really good things about this book! You’re right about romance, it’s part of way too many books. It’s frustrating it didn’t work with this particular book

    Like

  2. Pingback: September Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

