Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow Review

My thoughts on this book are very complicated. This book has a severe trigger warning for self-harm, sexual and physical assault, drug abuse and alcohol abuse.

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

It’s given that the main character, Charlie, would be complex as this is her journey with self-harm and recovery and wow was she complex. This book talks about self-harm in a researched, thoughtful manner. In terms of how the book flowed, it seemed to be more like random journal snip-bits than a full out book; the timeline seemed to jump and I was trying to keep track of how long had passed by through Mikey.

29236380

This review will contain spoilers from this point on. 

A lot of my conflicting thoughts on this book has to do with the characters in the story.
Mikey- he was there and passionately wanting her alive and then he just kind of disappeared. I understand that he had his own life, but he should have seemed like he cared more when he didn’t hear from her. I am grateful, however, that it didn’t end with the cliche of them being together.
Riley- he was absolutely toxic. I understand that, at first, Charlie was blindly grateful to him for getting her the job. I understand that he had a severe problem. I understand that Charlie was harming herself in a different manner being with him, knowing that it was toxic and harmful. He was ten years older than Charlie and she was still a minor. What I don’t understand is how the ending is vague enough that the reader can infer that they potentially will become involved again once he’s out and clean when how their relationship derailed should have been enough for her to not consider opening the note she gave him.

I read this book as a part of my debut author’s challenge.

3 thoughts on “Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow Review

  1. I’m in the middle of this and I’m not sure how to review it, so I appreciate yours. I just, I don’t really like it. Not because it’s bad but because it’s so hard to watch Charlie let herself be dragged back by Riley, you know?

    Anyway, I appreciate your review! I probably should have skipped this one in the first place but I heard such good things from people whose reviews I usually trust so *shrugs*.

    Like

  2. Pingback: November Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

