How to Make a Wish by Ashley Herring Blake Review

The following review is spoiler free.

26626118

Plot: Grace feels trapped by her unreliable mother and when she comes home from a trip to help with her upcoming audition she finds her life turned upside down and that she’s now living with her mom’s newest boyfriend and her own ex-boyfriend whom she had a nasty breakup with. Grace then meets Eva, a girl struck with grief, who just might change her life.

Genre: Contemporary, LGBTQIA+

Why I requested this book: I’m always down for a book showing the negative sides of unreliable parenting and how children can still overcome it. Plus, I am a sucker for good bisexual representation.

Overall: On the page bisexual characters is what I’m here for. Grace and her dealing with her tough family life and falling in love is what I’m here for. This book touched on the troubles of bad parenting and the parallels between Grace’s mom and Luca’s mom were astounding. Speaking of Luca, he was probably my favorite side character. This book was heartbreaking and magical.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I received an ecopy of this book through Netgalley; however, my opinions are my own.

 

One thought on “How to Make a Wish by Ashley Herring Blake Review

  1. Pingback: January Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

