How I Read SO Much: A Ramble

I get asked about once a month, normally around wrap-up time, how I read so much every month. So, I figured it was about time to answer that question.

  • I always have a book with me either in physical form or an ebook I’m into.
    • That way if I have a second or I have lunch by myself at work, I have something to do.
  • Audiobooks, Audiobooks, Audiobooks.
    • I listen to them on at least 2x speed and I listen to them whenever I get a chance be on my way to work or while I’m playing certain video games.
  • I read multiple books at once.
    •  Often, I limit myself to one book of that particular genre or format. This isn’t something for everyone, but I can manage it.
  • I like to finish books in one setting.
    • Obviously, this isn’t always possible, but it’s something I prefer doing whenever possible. I think it’s a pride thing.
  • I hate DNFing so I’ve learned what I like.
    • This partly goes with the previous point, but if I’m not liking a book, I push to finish it…mostly out of pride. I’ve learned what I’ll like and what I won’t like and tend to avoid things I don’t think I’ll enjoy.
  • I’ve decreased my manga/comic intake.
    • Back when I first made my Goodreads, a lot of what I read was comics and manga. I’ve gone through a lot of different series and am either waiting for the next volume or it’s completed. This wound up freeing  all the time I spent marathoning those series since not too many things have caught my eye lately.
  • Time management of my free time.
    • If we are being honest, I have a lot of free time, like an obscene amount currently. I spend a good chunk of my free time reading because I like knowing that I did something productive with my spare time.

 

One thought on “How I Read SO Much: A Ramble

  1. Hey!

    Nice blog (: I just started mine up and was looking for a few relative friends in the book world! I have a Booktube channel too. Also, There is a giveaway currently going on and I will be posting more as soon as I finish editing a few videos.

    Thanks and I hope you like my blog! :*

    Like

Leave a Reply

